speakers & honorees  

The Honorable Kimberly M. Foxx, Cook County State’s Attorney - 2017 Moving Forward Together Inspiring Hope Award Winner and Keynote Speaker. INSPIRING HOPE AWARD AND KEYNOTE SPEAKER: The Honorable Kimberly M. Foxx, Cook County State’s Attorney will be our 2017 Inspiring Hope Award Winner and Keynote Speaker. This annual award is presented annually to an individual who has overcome adversity to achieve personal and professional success. State’s Attorney Foxx is the first African American woman to lead the Cook County State’s Attorney’s Office – the second largest prosecutor’s office in the country.    Her passion for public service is deeply personal. She spent her early childhood growing up in the Cabrini Green public housing complex, raised by her teenage mother and grandmother. Her life experiences gave her insight on the impact of crime, violence and poverty on our communities. State’s Attorney Foxx took office on December 1, 2016 with a vision for transforming the Cook County State’s Attorney’s Office into a fairer, more forward-thinking agency focused on rebuilding the public trust, promoting transparency, and being proactive in making all communities safe.  

SISTERS OF MERCY SPIRIT OF MERCY AWARD: The Steans Family will receive the 2017 Spirit of Mercy Award. This annual award is presented by the Sisters of Mercy to recognize an individual, family or group for lifetime achievement. The Steans Family has been community development visionaries and advocates in the North Lawndale Community. Their work has ensured Lawndale families have access to the resources needed to secure greater economic stability and a brighter future. Their dedication to revitalizing the North Lawndale has been truly inspiring and was even a catalyst in MHL’s development of Lofts on Arthington, 181 affordable family apartments in Homan Square. 

2017 WINTRUST PARTNERS IN INNOVATION AWARD: In honor of the 10th Anniversary, the partners who developed 96 supportive housing units at Harold and Margot Schiff Residences in the Near North Community will receive the 2017 Wintrust Partners in Innovation Award:

  • Alderman Walter Burnett, Jr.
  • CNA Foundation
  • Chicago Housing Authority
  • Chicago Department of Planning and Development
  • Corporation for Supportive Housing
  • Clune Construction
  • Honorable Richard M. Daley
  • Federal Home Loan Bank
  • Peter Hayes
  • Huen Electric
  • Illinois Housing Development Association
  • JPMorgan Chase
  • Linn-Mathes, Inc.
  • Murphy/Jahn Architects
  • National Equity Fund
  • Margot and The Late Harold Schiff
  • Scott Pratt
  • U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
  • USG

In honor of the Mercy Housing Lakefront's 30th history, we are recognizing the founding board members and leadership of Lakefront SRO (our predecessor) with the 2017 Wintrust Partners in Innovation Award. They helped preserve and renovate the 69-unit Harold Washington Apartments, MHL first building.

  • Douglas Dobmeyer
  • Juanita Ebert
  • Alan Goldberg
  • Candi Huber
  • Ed Jacob
  • Paul Littlepage
  • Brooks Miller
  • Joni Saffrin
  • Johanna Sizick